Amul Ice Cream is 100% Vegetarian

Amul Ice Cream is 100% Vegetarian

Press-add
  • Amul is a 70-year-old cooperative organization owned by 36 lakh farmers.
  • Since the inception, Amul is dealing in only and only vegetarian products as indicated by the vegetarian logo on all the Amul products.
  • All the ingredients used by Amul viz. colours, stabilizers, emulsifiers, additives, enzymes in cheese, are of 100% vegetarian origin.
  • The emulsifier E-471 is used in ice-cream for stabilization and emulsification of fat with other milk components.
  • Amul uses the emulsifier E-471 manufactured strictly from plant oils only, which is indicated by the vegetarian logo on any ice-cream pack. Amul ice-cream is Halal certified and is exporting this product to various countries based on this certification.
  • We appeal to all our esteemed customers not to give heed to such erroneous videos getting viral, being spread out of some mala fide intentions.

Amul Ice Cream’s ingredient and Amul Ice Cream manufacturing plant is halal certified.

Halal Certificate

Halal Certificate

Halal Certificate

On various social media platforms, there is a video being circulated regarding E-471 and Amul Ice Cream. The video talks about an ingredient used in Amul Ice Cream called E-471 and its origins. This video is spreading rumors about E-471 being prepared from animal fats and we would like to clarify on the rumors being spread for mala fide intentions and help you take an informed decision about this video.

Halal Certificate

Over the last 70 years, Amul has been serving the nation with over 400+ milk and milk products, which are 100% vegetarian. All ingredients used in the preparation of our products are vegetarian in nature and are made from vegetarian source only.

Halal Certificate

Click to know more: https://goo.gl/cT9ZqS
Halal Certificate

Every Amul Product has a Veg. logo on the pack as per the Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI), the food regulator of India. This green dot is on the product to indicate that the product is 100% vegetarian.

At Amul, we are procuring the food additives from reputed national and international manufacturers, who provide us with specific certification of vegetarian origin. We would also wish to bring to your kind notice that all our manufacturing units are ISO: 9001 and ISO: 22000 certified and they undergo third-party audits regularly in which all such matters are audited. Our suppliers are also ISO certified organizations who in turn go through the same process of auditing at their end. Lastly, we would like to once again confirm that the ingredients used for the manufacture of the additive E-471 are of vegetarian origin.

Other big corporate houses have faced similar issues regarding the origin of E-471 in countries such as China, Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand. Even these companies use E-471 from vegetarian source which is Halal certified.

We would also like to share information regarding what E-471 is made from and how it is used?

E-471 is commonly known as Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids which are used by food manufacturer for its emulsifying properties.

Apart from Ice Creams / Frozen Desserts, vegetarian sourced E-471 is used in Protein beverages, margarine, shortenings, chewing gums, personal care products, coffee creamer and home care products.

Composition

Mono- and diglycerides are a class of substances which contain a mixture of mono- and diglyceryl esters of the long chain fatty acids, either saturated and unsaturated, that occur in fats in food.

Source or Origin of the Substance

They are prepared by the glycerolysis of fats or oils, or from fatty acids derived from edible sources (FDA 2014). These edible sources are commonly vegetable oils such as soybean, canola, sunflower, cottonseed, coconut or palm oil (Frank 2014), and their main fatty acids used to manufacture mono- and diglycerides include lauric, linoleic, myristic, oleic, palmitic, and stearic acid (FDA 2014). The glycerol component of mono- and diglycerides is also derived from these edible fats and oils.

Specific Uses of the Substance

Mono- and diglycerides have many applications as food processing aids. They are principally used as emulsifiers. This function also translates into stabilization, preventing food separation, stabilizing air pockets and extending shelf life (Frank 2014).

Approved Legal Uses of the Substance

FSSAI has approved the use of E-471 as Emulsifiers and Stabilizers in Ice Creams. Also, Food and Drug Administration, USA (FDA) as GRAS (Generally Recognized As Safe) listing at 21 CFR 184.1505 include use this as an emulsifier, dough strengthener, flavoring agent, adjuvant, lubricant, release agent, solvent, 118 vehicle, thickener, active surface-agent and texturizer.

According to European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) Panel, the European Commission considers revising the EU specifications for mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids (E-471) including maximum limits for glycidyl esters because refined vegetable oil, which can be used for manufacturing of mono- and di- glycerides of fatty acids (E 471) is the only identified source of glycidyl esters of fatty acids, which are formed during deodorization.

Therefore, we would like you to kindly take an informed decision about these rumors and miscommunication being spread with mala fide intentions by individuals to harm Amul. We also request you to kindly spread this post with your family and friends so that they too can avoid being misdirected by such fake news.

We would like to restate that all ingredients used in all the Amul Milk and Milk Products are of 100% vegetarian origin and can by consumed by everyone.